Derby Trail Forums

Go Back   Derby Trail Forums > Sports Bar & Grill
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2013, 04:35 AM
Rupert Pupkin Rupert Pupkin is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPK View Post
He technically can be DQd. The option he chose was one of the 3 options he had available to him, he just didn't execute the drop properly
If you watch the replay, it looked like he dropped it within about a club length. You could see where his previous divot was and it looked like the drop was about 3-4 feet behind that. That is within a club length. Isn't that a legal drop?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2013, 08:35 AM
GPK GPK is offline
5'8".. but all man!
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 3 miles from Chateuax de la Blaha
Posts: 21,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Pupkin View Post
If you watch the replay, it looked like he dropped it within about a club length. You could see where his previous divot was and it looked like the drop was about 3-4 feet behind that. That is within a club length. Isn't that a legal drop?
The rule states as near as posssible to the spot last played from. He def could have dropped it closer than what he did.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2013, 08:57 AM
Danzig Danzig is offline
Dee Tee Stables
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 29,940
Default

no dq. two stroke penalty. that's according to an update to my husbands phone...
__________________
Books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren't very new at all.
Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2013, 09:03 AM
Payson Dave's Avatar
Payson Dave Payson Dave is offline
The Curragh
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPK View Post
The rule states as near as posssible to the spot last played from. He def could have dropped it closer than what he did.
Ray Paulick has a couple of great tweets on this subject...
__________________
....stay lady stay...stay while the night is still ahead...

http://www.playlist.com/playlist/15640118795/standalone
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2013, 11:03 AM
GPK GPK is offline
5'8".. but all man!
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 3 miles from Chateuax de la Blaha
Posts: 21,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Payson Dave View Post
Ray Paulick has a couple of great tweets on this subject...
Yeah...and I didn't realize he used to be in the program.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:16 PM
Rupert Pupkin Rupert Pupkin is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,102
Default

It was Tiger's statement that got him the penalty. His drop was close enough to where he hit the original shot from, that he was not going to get any penalty. But when Tiger made the statement that he intentionally dropped the ball a yard or two further back, that was what got him the penalty. It was the "intent" that got him the penalty.

There are situations (like when a ball goes directly in the water) where a player is allowed to drop as far back as he wants. But in this case where the ball was on dry land on the other side of the water, before it went in the water, then the player does not have the choice to go back as far as he wants.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2013, 03:16 PM
GPK GPK is offline
5'8".. but all man!
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 3 miles from Chateuax de la Blaha
Posts: 21,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Pupkin View Post
It was Tiger's statement that got him the penalty. His drop was close enough to where he hit the original shot from, that he was not going to get any penalty. But when Tiger made the statement that he intentionally dropped the ball a yard or two further back, that was what got him the penalty. It was the "intent" that got him the penalty.

There are situations (like when a ball goes directly in the water) where a player is allowed to drop as far back as he wants. But in this case where the ball was on dry land on the other side of the water, before it went in the water, then the player does not have the choice to go back as far as he wants.
Yes he does.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2013, 03:17 PM
Rupert Pupkin Rupert Pupkin is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPK View Post
Yes he does.
I understand now. He could have gone back as far as he wanted from the point of entry. But he did not choose that option. He chose the option to hit it from the same spot. If he's going to hit it from the same spot, then he can't go as far back as he wants. He has to try to drop it in the same spot.

Last edited by Rupert Pupkin : 04-13-2013 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.