![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Bob .....
Does Tiger have a chance of being DQ'd in the AM for signing an inappropriate score card because of the drop he took after hitting that pin that ending up taking a bath......? Apparently someone watching the telecast at home raised the issue tonight with CBS that Woods did not carry out the ball drop and penalty in accordance with the rule for one of the three legit options that allow a player to continue play with penalty on a hole when the ball ends up unplayable after crossing the line to a water hazzard. The question CBS is raising is whether Tiger's card is signed with the correct overall score associated with the infraction potentially bringing DQ into the equation......Can't they eliminate these arm chair idiots from affecting major golf tournaments? After what happened to Johnson a few years back at the course with the 7000 sand traps have they not learned anything about the potential for these disasters? |
#2
|
|||
|
|||
![]() i like my chances in this contest. cant wait for the threepeat in the Spa contest
![]() |
#3
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
![]() If you watch the replay, it looked like he dropped it within about a club length. You could see where his previous divot was and it looked like the drop was about 3-4 feet behind that. That is within a club length. Isn't that a legal drop?
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
![]() The rule states as near as posssible to the spot last played from. He def could have dropped it closer than what he did.
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
![]() no dq. two stroke penalty. that's according to an update to my husbands phone...
__________________
Books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren't very new at all. Abraham Lincoln |
#7
|
||||
|
||||
![]() Ray Paulick has a couple of great tweets on this subject...
__________________
....stay lady stay...stay while the night is still ahead... http://www.playlist.com/playlist/15640118795/standalone |
#8
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Yeah...and I didn't realize he used to be in the program.
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
![]() It was Tiger's statement that got him the penalty. His drop was close enough to where he hit the original shot from, that he was not going to get any penalty. But when Tiger made the statement that he intentionally dropped the ball a yard or two further back, that was what got him the penalty. It was the "intent" that got him the penalty.
There are situations (like when a ball goes directly in the water) where a player is allowed to drop as far back as he wants. But in this case where the ball was on dry land on the other side of the water, before it went in the water, then the player does not have the choice to go back as far as he wants. |