Derby Trail Forums

Go Back   Derby Trail Forums > Main Forum > The Paddock
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:34 PM
the_fat_man's Avatar
the_fat_man the_fat_man is offline
Atlantic City Race Course
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handicappy
Jockey comes back after the gallop out and the race is official before he gets off his mount.
I watch a lot of NY races and I find this hard to believe.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:42 PM
hockey2315 hockey2315 is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,403
Default

I bet White Tie and that was Garcia's fault.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:50 PM
the_fat_man's Avatar
the_fat_man the_fat_man is offline
Atlantic City Race Course
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,676
Default

You know, I've been writing about this particular issue and it shocks me that people just don't get it.

The stewards are not concerned with jockeys keeping their horses straight. Horses getting pinched on the rail is a common occurrence. It happens all the time. If you're Edgar Prado, it happens to you 50% of your rides.

I see one of two things happening:

1) someone gets killed and the stewards start enforcing this, as a result

2) jockeys start taking precautions to protect themselves against 'pinchers'. Rather than cautiously holding their position or trying to ease back, they'll bust through the opening, which is their right, since they're already there, and when the pincher comes in, he'll get dumped. The pincher will thus be put at risk. And that will put an end to pinching. Of course, some of this might lead to some bigtime spills. What the hell, these things happen there's no professional policing of a sporting even.

Garcia's 'mistake' was trying to ride cautiously rather than recklessly and almost going down rather than dumping Cornelio, who's basically been riding on ACID the past few months.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:51 PM
hockey2315 hockey2315 is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,403
Default

There was absolutely no reason for Garcia to have his horse that close to the pace. He was in a perfect position before he got pinched.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:54 PM
MaTH716's Avatar
MaTH716 MaTH716 is offline
Flemington
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jersey
Posts: 11,438
Default

http://derbytrail.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23083
__________________
Felix Unger talking to Oscar Madison: "Your horse could finish third by 20 lengths and they still pay you? And you have been losing money for all these years?!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:03 PM
Handicappy's Avatar
Handicappy Handicappy is offline
Hawthorne
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Larchmont, New York
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaTH716
Thanks Math716. I looked all over to see if anyone was bringing this up and didn't find any so I put up my own thread.
__________________
Ron Thompson
Avatar is Invasor in his stall/Post Classic taken by my trusty cell phone camera.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:17 PM
MaTH716's Avatar
MaTH716 MaTH716 is offline
Flemington
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jersey
Posts: 11,438
Default

I had nothing vested on the 4 but I think the whole situation is an outrage. According to the information Garcia never had a chance to lodge an objection. It shouldn't have even had to come to that, the stewards should have the inquiry sign up as soon as they hit the wire.
__________________
Felix Unger talking to Oscar Madison: "Your horse could finish third by 20 lengths and they still pay you? And you have been losing money for all these years?!"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:54 PM
the_fat_man's Avatar
the_fat_man the_fat_man is offline
Atlantic City Race Course
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey2315
There was absolutely no reason for Garcia to have his horse that close to the pace. He was in a perfect position before he got pinched.
Oh, so your complaint is that he was too close to the pace. What does that have to do with the issue? Garcia was ON THE RAIL, clear. It's HIS PATH. Cornelio can't take it away from him. That's common sense. Of course, the stewards don't get that.

When you're driving, do you merge over or just cut off the guy in the next lane?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:30 PM
hockey2315 hockey2315 is offline
Del Mar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_fat_man
Oh, so your complaint is that he was too close to the pace. What does that have to do with the issue? Garcia was ON THE RAIL, clear. It's HIS PATH. Cornelio can't take it away from him. That's common sense. Of course, the stewards don't get that.

When you're driving, do you merge over or just cut off the guy in the next lane?
Not that he was too close to the pace, but because he was rushing his horse up the rail for no reason to join the pace. There were two other horses trying to get close to the lead and Garcia tried to put his horse on a spot on the rail that was too small and getting smaller. He was behind the the other two - not next to them. And what about the fact that Corny was getting pressure from his outside from the 7? There was no reason why Garcia couldn't just sit third and let the two speeds go at it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:29 PM
Revidere's Avatar
Revidere Revidere is offline
Washington Park
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey2315
There was absolutely no reason for Garcia to have his horse that close to the pace. He was in a perfect position before he got pinched.
Where he should have been has no bearing on the fact that he WAS there. He was crushed, lost 6 lengths and still missed by a 1 1/4 lengths.

The 6 should have come down. They were taking them down left and right at Keeneland for infractions not even close to that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:56 PM
Handicappy's Avatar
Handicappy Handicappy is offline
Hawthorne
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Larchmont, New York
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_fat_man
You know, I've been writing about this particular issue and it shocks me that people just don't get it.

The stewards are not concerned with jockeys keeping their horses straight. Horses getting pinched on the rail is a common occurrence. It happens all the time. If you're Edgar Prado, it happens to you 50% of your rides.

I see one of two things happening:

1) someone gets killed and the stewards start enforcing this, as a result

2) jockeys start taking precautions to protect themselves against 'pinchers'. Rather than cautiously holding their position or trying to ease back, they'll bust through the opening, which is their right, since they're already there, and when the pincher comes in, he'll get dumped. The pincher will thus be put at risk. And that will put an end to pinching. Of course, some of this might lead to some bigtime spills. What the hell, these things happen there's no professional policing of a sporting even.

Garcia's 'mistake' was trying to ride cautiously rather than recklessly and almost going down rather than dumping Cornelio, who's basically been riding on ACID the past few months.
Maybe "people don't get it" cause you are wrong. My goodness. What a revolutionary thought. I don't fault Cornelio. He looked as startled as anyone. But the stewards didn't even look at it. It was the fastest finish made official on the day.
__________________
Ron Thompson
Avatar is Invasor in his stall/Post Classic taken by my trusty cell phone camera.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:51 PM
Handicappy's Avatar
Handicappy Handicappy is offline
Hawthorne
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Larchmont, New York
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey2315
I bet White Tie and that was Garcia's fault.
I watched it with the connections. No way was it Garcia's fault. He had position inside. If he didn't and was trying to run up there it would be. The inquiry sign should have went up regardless.
__________________
Ron Thompson
Avatar is Invasor in his stall/Post Classic taken by my trusty cell phone camera.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.