Quote:
Originally Posted by slotdirt
And I keep going back to the Lance Moore 2-point conversion from last year's Super Bowl. That was a TD - where the receiver literally had possession for .1 of a second - but this isn't?
|
Now this is just a guess.
But what I'm thinking is that Lance Moore caught the ball before the goaline. Then he reached over (made a slight move) and broke the plain of the goaline, such as when a RB carries the ball and breaks the plain. If a RB breaks the plain and fumbles it's still a TD, just like in the case of Moore. The play is over and it's a TD.
Now there is the ridiculous ruling on the reception that cost the Lions the game yesterday, where you must have possesion all the way through the play/action. I though he established possesion and it was just a terrible interpertion of the rule by the zebras.
That's my guess.