Quote:
Originally Posted by docicu3
Link for replay below...
http://nfl.fanhouse.com/team/cleveland-browns
Given that the only time a field goal is made from this distance it is a line drive with low flying trajectory, is it within the rules of the game to put a defender at the cross bar to deflect the ball as it passes.
It seems that this ball cleared by no more than 6-12 inches which for these guys is the equivalent of grabbing the rim of a basket since they are both 10 feet high.
I know you cannot use another players back to hurl yourself over the line of scrimmage but can you block a ball at the point it clears a cross bar and upright.
|
as far as i know Yes it can be blocked. the same as, if it were short it could be fielded and returned.