Derby Trail Forums

Derby Trail Forums (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/index.php)
-   Sports Bar & Grill (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   PGA Chamionship (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37723)

jms62 08-11-2010 06:15 AM

PGA Chamionship
 
Mickelson 50 - 11/1
McIlroy 17.52 - 16/1
Stricker 12.74 22/1
Harrington 12.74 22/1
Kuchar 7.01 40/1



To Date -350

GPK 08-12-2010 01:00 PM

Somebody seems to be a little pissed off at finishing 78th last week.

jms62 08-12-2010 03:55 PM

I threw a hailmary 10 spot on Goydos at 200-1 on a hunch.

ateamstupid 08-12-2010 06:40 PM

TNT's coverage is torture. 2 minutes of golf, 5 minutes of commercials.

Coach Pants 08-12-2010 08:05 PM

Plus that fat old guy telling homoerotic stories about his favorite golfers on the course.

GPK 08-12-2010 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Pants (Post 682340)
Plus that fat old guy telling homoerotic stories about his favorite golfers on the course.

Better than listening to Chris Berman do golf coverage on ESPN. They should lock Berman and Hank Goldberg in an all you can eat buffet joint and let them eat themselves to death.

SCUDSBROTHER 08-12-2010 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Pants (Post 682340)
Plus that fat old guy telling homoerotic stories about his favorite golfers on the course.

You mean them fkn essays?

jms62 08-13-2010 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jms62 (Post 682270)
I threw a hailmary 10 spot on Goydos at 200-1 on a hunch.

One of my best all time hunches... Goydos finishes round 1 +8:zz:

notyep59 08-13-2010 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 682346)
Better than listening to Chris Berman do golf coverage on ESPN. They should lock Berman and Hank Goldberg in an all you can eat buffet joint and let them eat themselves to death.

I'd rather listen to Berman, Goldberg and the homoerotic guy all talk at the same time, than listen to Johnny Miller talk golf. Neighbors have thought I was fighting with someone, because I was yelling at him .(don't think he heard me, at least that's what my wife said)

ateamstupid 08-13-2010 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jms62 (Post 682533)
One of my best all time hunches... Goydos finishes round 1 +8:zz:

Looking good with Kuchar though.

Nascar1966 08-14-2010 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jms62 (Post 681514)
Mickelson 50 - 11/1
McIlroy 17.52 - 16/1
Stricker 12.74 22/1
Harrington 12.74 22/1
Kuchar 7.01 40/1



To Date -350

I will try to root Kuchar home for you. If he wins would this put you ahead for the year?

declansharbor 08-14-2010 11:53 AM

Good luck JMS!

My buddy and I took $200 wagers on two players, Stricker and Furyk. Kuchar is playing well on top!

SCUDSBROTHER 08-14-2010 01:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nascar1966 (Post 682813)
I will try to root Kuchar home for you. If he wins would this put you ahead for the year?

You calling Obama supporters stupid, but this question ain't exactly brilliant.

7 x 41= 287

The individual says they're down $350. Looks like they bet $100 on this event. So, Kuchar winning would result in them still being -$163.

jms62 08-14-2010 05:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCUDSBROTHER (Post 682885)
You calling Obama supporters stupid, but this question ain't exactly brilliant.

7 x 41= 287

The individual says they're down $350. Looks like they bet $100 on this event. So, Kuchar winning would result in them still being -$163.

I've been playing the same bets all year and as of now I am up a whopping
83.75. I have 7 Wins (4 Dutch, 3 Big Bet). The minus 350 is since I started posting on this board.

Coach Pants 08-14-2010 05:44 PM

Watney is playing some solid golf. We'll see if he can hold on or fold like a typical country club b.itch tomorrow.

hockey2315 08-14-2010 11:20 PM

Interesting top 3 right now. I predict Johnson catches Watney early, but then they both spit the bit late, setting it up for a McIlroy/Kaymer exacta.

Coach Pants 08-15-2010 04:09 PM

Watney might as well wear a dress out there.

SCUDSBROTHER 08-15-2010 04:59 PM

Funny how they call Villegas "V.J. Gas."

Coach Pants 08-15-2010 06:10 PM


ARyan 08-15-2010 06:17 PM

Even worse than the choke, was this "was it or was it not a bunker?"

I don't know how they can consider it a bunker when he had members of the gallery standing and sitting in the area with him.

It might be better he missed that putt then have to think you won it then have it taken away...

Nascar1966 08-15-2010 07:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCUDSBROTHER (Post 682885)
You calling Obama supporters stupid, but this question ain't exactly brilliant.

7 x 41= 287

The individual says they're down $350. Looks like they bet $100 on this event. So, Kuchar winning would result in them still being -$163.

Excuse the hell out of me Sherlock Holmes. Im sure my avatar applies to you. Did the question come up as to whether he was up for the year or since he put what he was going to bet on here Sherlock Holmes?

Coach Pants 08-15-2010 07:13 PM

Bubba didn't have to go for it. He's about the only player who manned up today and he hands the championship to the timid German who already choked in crunch time.

Too many chokers in this sport.

herkhorse 08-15-2010 09:04 PM

Bubba looked shocked when the ball hit the water, like it was impossible for him to come up short. That sucked for Dustin Johnson, since when are people allowed to stand in bunkers? Kaymer didn't choke, he made a huge put on 18 to make the playoff, and a bigger one on 17 to tie Bubba.

SCUDSBROTHER 08-15-2010 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by herkhorse (Post 683439)
Bubba looked shocked when the ball hit the water, like it was impossible for him to come up short. That sucked for Dustin Johnson, since when are people allowed to stand in bunkers? Kaymer didn't choke, he made a huge put on 18 to make the playoff, and a bigger one on 17 to tie Bubba.

WTF! You mean they let him putt for a victory they knew they'd have to take away? WOW, this could have been much worse if he made that.
__________________

dellinger63 08-15-2010 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by herkhorse (Post 683439)
That sucked for Dustin Johnson, since when are people allowed to stand in bunkers? .

that is a good point. wish he would have Happy Gilmore'd that official.

golfer 08-16-2010 05:42 AM

Now that the dust has settled, and we have found out the players were warned about these "bunkers" outside the ropes, it's just a shame that this had to happen to Johnson. He certainly believed he had simply hit his tee shot into the gallery, not thinking that the gallery would be standing in a bunker. Should a rules official have informed him he was in a bunker, yeah, I guess that would have helped, although I'm sure there was no obligation on their part to do so.

herkhorse 08-16-2010 05:58 AM

You're right, though this was more of an embarrassment to the pga officials than to Johnson, and since it was the last hole of a major championship they could have handled it better.

jms62 08-16-2010 06:03 AM

I don't understand what took so long to resolve it. Johnson knows if he grounded or not and course officials know what is and what is not a bunker. After he hit his tee shot they showed a graphic and it clearly showed it was a bunker.

Antitrust32 08-16-2010 07:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfer (Post 683507)
Now that the dust has settled, and we have found out the players were warned about these "bunkers" outside the ropes, it's just a shame that this had to happen to Johnson. He certainly believed he had simply hit his tee shot into the gallery, not thinking that the gallery would be standing in a bunker. Should a rules official have informed him he was in a bunker, yeah, I guess that would have helped, although I'm sure there was no obligation on their part to do so.

it didnt even look like a bunker! looked like a very small area that had been worn down by the masses!

slotdirt 08-16-2010 01:29 PM

Seriously, can someone explain to me why "grounding" your club is even a penalty? Michelle Wie got in trouble for this last year, and it's really the dumbest rule in all of golf. What advantage could D. Johnson possibly have gained for that yesterday?

Antitrust32 08-16-2010 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slotdirt (Post 683697)
Seriously, can someone explain to me why "grounding" your club is even a penalty? Michelle Wie got in trouble for this last year, and it's really the dumbest rule in all of golf. What advantage could D. Johnson possibly have gained for that yesterday?

its just the rules. cant ground your club in a hazard. a sand trap is considered a hazard.

I would guess the rule is like that to penalize you for hitting a poor shot.

slotdirt 08-16-2010 01:55 PM

I get that it's the rule, but it's a completely useless rule. There are rules to keep someone from cheating and then there are rules just to have rules.

Antitrust32 08-16-2010 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slotdirt (Post 683733)
I get that it's the rule, but it's a completely useless rule. There are rules to keep someone from cheating and then there are rules just to have rules.

like i said, its a penalty for hitting a poor shot.

its not a big deal to follow & its not difficult to hit the shot without grounding the club.

what is useless.. is to call something that looked like a 4 foot patch of land that had been worn down by people walking a "sand trap".

slotdirt 08-16-2010 02:08 PM

Well, yes, agreed on that last point. I just think grounding a club in a hazard is a dumb rule in the first place.

Antitrust32 08-16-2010 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slotdirt (Post 683747)
Well, yes, agreed on that last point. I just think grounding a club in a hazard is a dumb rule in the first place.

they almost did the same thing with tiger on saturday or friday (dont remember which day I saw it)

He hit into the rough, and there were some worn down areas of dirt / sand.. just little 6 inch patches, grass all around it though.

The official spent 5 minutes deciding if it was in a sand trap or not. Yes a 6 inch sand trap!

Turns out they decided it was not a trap so Tiger could ground his club.

Too bad the official that was with Dustins group didnt just speak up.. or Dustin should have asked.. but I guess you have other things on your mind when you are leading the PGA championship on the 72nd hole.

jms62 08-16-2010 03:10 PM

If you were able to ground your club in the bunker you would be able to improve your lie.

golfer 08-16-2010 03:36 PM

Grounding your club in a bunker would potentially allow you the advantage of knowing how firm or soft the sand is, as well as how deep.

From an article at ESPN.com, rules official David Price knew Johnson was in a bunker when he hit his 2nd shot, he was just unaware Johnson had grounded his club.

"Price said he went up to Johnson as he was preparing to hit his second shot and asked him if he needed anything. Johnson replied that he needed the crowd moved to the right, so Price went to make sure that was being done and then waited on the fairway. He never saw Johnson ground his club.

But Price had dealt with two other questions from Johnson or his caddie about bunkers the previous few holes. On No. 14, Johnson hit into an area just past a bunker and asked if he could take some practice swings for that shot in the bunker. Since the ball wasn't in the bunker, Price told him he could. Then, on No. 16, Johnson's caddie asked if he could remove some stones near the ball. Price told him they were in a bunker and by rule they can move loose impediments as long as the golf ball doesn't move. But there was no doubt to Price that Johnson was in a bunker.

"All he had to do was ask," Price said. "He'd asked me before that. He'd been in a bunch of bunkers. You don't remind a player on every hole that you can't ground your club."

Price said the bunker on No. 18 that Johnson was in was formed like many other bunkers on the course.

"It was a rather small one, but it was an area that had been dug out and filled with sand," Price said. "The only thing that made it different than previous bunkers is that he hit the ball so far offline, it was in a bunker that had been trampled down instead of one that was finely raked. We told players on the information we gave them that all sand on the course was considered a hazard, even if there were footprints or tire marks."

Antitrust32 08-16-2010 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfer (Post 683791)
Grounding your club in a bunker would potentially allow you the advantage of knowing how firm or soft the sand is, as well as how deep.

my bunker routine:

open up stance, open up club face

close my eyes, swing down on it, full follow-through & pray!

slotdirt 08-16-2010 04:21 PM

Grounding your club in a bunker would potentially allow a player to improve a lie, but wouldn't ground your club, well, anywhere on the course potentially allow a player to improve a lie? Moreover, if a player is hitting the ball from, say, the fairway, and grounding their club moves the ball, isn't the player subject to a penalty anyway? It's a stupid rule.

3kings 08-16-2010 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slotdirt (Post 683813)
Grounding your club in a bunker would potentially allow a player to improve a lie, but wouldn't ground your club, well, anywhere on the course potentially allow a player to improve a lie? Moreover, if a player is hitting the ball from, say, the fairway, and grounding their club moves the ball, isn't the player subject to a penalty anyway? It's a stupid rule.

There is nothing wrong with the rule it has been in existence forever. Knowing the depth or consistency of the sand is a huge advantage to pro golfers. The PGA erred by not considering the bunkers, outside the ropes, waste areas. That is what they did in 2004 and there were no major issues.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.