Derby Trail Forums

Derby Trail Forums (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/index.php)
-   Sports Bar & Grill (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   2013 Master's Contest (http://www.derbytrail.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50385)

TheSpyder 04-11-2013 04:45 PM

Will come out of the time tunnel!

Quote:

Originally Posted by keithting (Post 923097)
J. Nicklaus
R. Floyd
B. Crenshaw


keithting 04-11-2013 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheSpyder (Post 923174)
Will come out of the time tunnel!

Hey, if there was an alternate pick, it would be H. Irwin....

Tough decision tonight - watch the Master's or Sopranos rerun !!!!

Crown@club 04-12-2013 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by keithting (Post 923188)
Hey, if there was an alternate pick, it would be H. Irwin....

Tough decision tonight - watch the Master's or Sopranos rerun !!!!

Why not Trevino?

ateamstupid 04-12-2013 11:36 AM

I've had a blast watching this Guan kid play so far. Would love to see him make the cut.

Alabama Stakes 04-12-2013 02:17 PM

some idiot euro just penalized him a stroke for slow play on 17. Geez Louise

GBBob 04-12-2013 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GBBob (Post 923027)
Dustin Johnson
Keegan Bradley
Tiger Woods

Johnson +6 over last 5 holes today:zz:

docicu3 04-12-2013 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GBBob (Post 923298)
Johnson +6 over last 5 holes today:zz:

Bob .....

Does Tiger have a chance of being DQ'd in the AM for signing an inappropriate score card because of the drop he took after hitting that pin that ending up taking a bath......?

Apparently someone watching the telecast at home raised the issue tonight with CBS that Woods did not carry out the ball drop and penalty in accordance with the rule for one of the three legit options that allow a player to continue play with penalty on a hole when the ball ends up unplayable after crossing the line to a water hazzard.

The question CBS is raising is whether Tiger's card is signed with the correct overall score associated with the infraction potentially bringing DQ into the equation......Can't they eliminate these arm chair idiots from affecting major golf tournaments? After what happened to Johnson a few years back at the course with the 7000 sand traps have they not learned anything about the potential for these disasters?

Alabama Stakes 04-13-2013 12:25 AM

amazing
 
i like my chances in this contest. cant wait for the threepeat in the Spa contest:tro:

Rupert Pupkin 04-13-2013 02:45 AM

Did you guys see how much tickets are going for? If you can find a ticket, they're going for $3,000-$4,000 for a one-day pass. A pass for all 4 days will cost you well over $12,000. A ticket to the Masters has got to be the most expensive ticket in sports.

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/golf-d...666--golf.html

GPK 04-13-2013 04:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by docicu3 (Post 923364)
Bob .....

Does Tiger have a chance of being DQ'd in the AM for signing an inappropriate score card because of the

op he took after hitting that pin that ending up taking a bath......?

Apparently someone watching the telecast at home raised the issue tonight with CBS that Woods did not carry out the ball drop and penalty in accordance with the rule for one of the three legit options that allow a player to continue play with penalty on a hole when the ball ends up unplayable after crossing the line to a water hazzard.

The question CBS is raising is whether Tiger's card is signed with the correct overall score associated with the infraction potentially bringing DQ into the equation......Can't they eliminate these arm chair idiots from affecting major golf tournaments? After what happened to Johnson a few years back at the course with the 7000 sand traps have they not learned anything about the potential for these disasters?

He technically can be DQd. The option he chose was one of the 3 options he had available to him, he just didn't execute the drop properly

GPK 04-13-2013 04:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alabama Stakes (Post 923288)
some idiot euro just penalized him a stroke for slow play on 17. Geez Louise

Euro rules officials don't mess around. The kid was warned 3 times. Wish American rules officials had some backbone to them. Paramor would penalize his ailing grandmother for slow play. The guy pratically worshipped the ground that Seve walked on, yet even he wasn't immune to being given shots by him for slow play.

Rupert Pupkin 04-13-2013 04:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923380)
He technically can be DQd. The option he chose was one of the 3 options he had available to him, he just didn't execute the drop properly

If you watch the replay, it looked like he dropped it within about a club length. You could see where his previous divot was and it looked like the drop was about 3-4 feet behind that. That is within a club length. Isn't that a legal drop?

GPK 04-13-2013 08:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rupert Pupkin (Post 923382)
If you watch the replay, it looked like he dropped it within about a club length. You could see where his previous divot was and it looked like the drop was about 3-4 feet behind that. That is within a club length. Isn't that a legal drop?

The rule states as near as posssible to the spot last played from. He def could have dropped it closer than what he did.

Danzig 04-13-2013 08:57 AM

no dq. two stroke penalty. that's according to an update to my husbands phone...

Payson Dave 04-13-2013 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923400)
The rule states as near as posssible to the spot last played from. He def could have dropped it closer than what he did.

Ray Paulick has a couple of great tweets on this subject...

GPK 04-13-2013 11:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Payson Dave (Post 923406)
Ray Paulick has a couple of great tweets on this subject...

Yeah...and I didn't realize he used to be in the program.

Rupert Pupkin 04-13-2013 02:16 PM

It was Tiger's statement that got him the penalty. His drop was close enough to where he hit the original shot from, that he was not going to get any penalty. But when Tiger made the statement that he intentionally dropped the ball a yard or two further back, that was what got him the penalty. It was the "intent" that got him the penalty.

There are situations (like when a ball goes directly in the water) where a player is allowed to drop as far back as he wants. But in this case where the ball was on dry land on the other side of the water, before it went in the water, then the player does not have the choice to go back as far as he wants.

GPK 04-13-2013 03:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rupert Pupkin (Post 923490)
It was Tiger's statement that got him the penalty. His drop was close enough to where he hit the original shot from, that he was not going to get any penalty. But when Tiger made the statement that he intentionally dropped the ball a yard or two further back, that was what got him the penalty. It was the "intent" that got him the penalty.

There are situations (like when a ball goes directly in the water) where a player is allowed to drop as far back as he wants. But in this case where the ball was on dry land on the other side of the water, before it went in the water, then the player does not have the choice to go back as far as he wants.

Yes he does.

Rupert Pupkin 04-13-2013 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923510)
Yes he does.

I understand now. He could have gone back as far as he wanted from the point of entry. But he did not choose that option. He chose the option to hit it from the same spot. If he's going to hit it from the same spot, then he can't go as far back as he wants. He has to try to drop it in the same spot.

GPK 04-13-2013 07:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rupert Pupkin (Post 923512)
I understand now. He could have gone back as far as he wanted from the point of entry. But he did not choose that option. He chose the option to hit it from the same spot. If he's going to hit it from the same spot, then he can't go as far back as he wants. He has to try to drop it in the same spot.

Yeah, that option is available with regular water hazards but not with lateral water hazards.

MaTH716 04-14-2013 08:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923578)
Yeah, that option is available with regular water hazards but not with lateral water hazards.

What's the rule regarding teeing off from the wrong color markers? :D

GPK 04-14-2013 10:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MaTH716 (Post 923622)
What's the rule regarding teeing off from the wrong color markers? :D

Match play = loss of hole
Stroke play = 2 shots
Florida trip play = BT takes a f*cking

MaTH716 04-14-2013 10:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923631)
Match play = loss of hole
Stroke play = 2 shots
Florida trip play = BT takes a f*cking

:tro:

3kings 04-14-2013 11:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPK (Post 923631)
Match play = loss of hole
Stroke play = 2 shots
Florida trip play = BT takes a f*cking

Don't think for a second BT forgot. As we drove past the course on our first day to the track he told be the story on how Matt screwed him. On subsequent trips past the course he just mumbled f· bombs under his breath.

Alabama Stakes 04-14-2013 12:53 PM

my cousin Dave is walking with Day and Kucher today. Big guy looks like a fridge. Escorted Tiger thru the press yesterday AM before he got the news. Tiger was NOT happy.

TheSpyder 04-14-2013 07:03 PM

Sir I believe you are the winner under rule 26-bc dash 4 column b - Calzone in second. Prizes for both. Send me your address
Quote:

Originally Posted by Crown@club (Post 922939)
Snedeker
Kuchar
Adam Scott


jocko699 04-14-2013 10:30 PM

Congrats to both of ya!!!!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.