![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The the victim in this race was not going to win, the case could be made that she might have had a better placing had she not been hit. "Outcome" doesn't just refer to the top spot.
|
Quote:
No halfway rational person could even attempt to argue that the foul cost her more than 2.5 lengths tops - let alone 7 full lengths. Had another horse passed her for 4th ... than a DQ could be justified because there was superfecta wagering on the race and 4th money is still 4th money. |
1 Attachment(s)
Love the chart call of this race:
"clobbered, knocking rival 3 paths sideways, angled out impatiently despite opening on rail" Funny stuff. |
That's why chart callers are useless. Now suckers will bet the 7 back without looking at video.
|
http://www.nyra.com/stewards/sar/SC080610.shtml
I agree 100% with the stewards conclusion and decision .. however, unless I'm reading the attatched rule wrong, the horse technically should have been DQ'd. |
They've got the rule written as a DISJUNCTION. Sounds as if they meant it to be a CONJUNCTION. The latter is what most horseplayers would want, as well.
|
put it this way...i cashed my tickets before they could change their minds.....
|
Quote:
With regard to the race in question, I didn't see it and I'm too lazy to watch it right now. But in general, I agree with you. I am more of a proponent of fining the jock and giving him days rather than disqualifying the horse in most cases similar to this. |
Quote:
In both horseracing and football I think the argument can be made that the interference is irrelevant if it does not change the outcome. However, I still think the jockeys should get days for reckless moves like this. There obviously needs to be some deterrent to reckless riding. In the race in question, Bridgmohan got lucky that the horse he fouled held on for 4th. Because if the horse would have run 5th, I think the stewards would have had to disqualify the winner for costing that horse 4th. |
Quote:
If you're spending 3.5 to 4K a month in training bills on a Maiden 20 claimer .. you're hopeless. |
Quote:
|
the other thing that puzzled me other than the non take down...was the the double payoff after the next race. pelican lake paid 18.20 and sotique paid 25.60...yet the double came back 114 and change..somebody made a big double play on those two horses. i hope it was not the stewards.....lol
|
Maybe they arranged for that horse to get a clear rail run around the track.:rolleyes: Doesn't win otherwise.
|
Quote:
|
The race in question was in NY and you'd be hard pressed to find a trainer in NY getting only $50/day. If the horse that was hit was prevented from making her best placing, it changed the outcome for them, even if she was not going to WIN.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.